Home > Uncategorized > “Fabula de la Sirena y los Borrachos” By Pablo Neruda

“Fabula de la Sirena y los Borrachos” By Pablo Neruda

Todos estos senores estaban dentro
cuando ella entro completamente desnuda
ellos habian bebido y comenzaron a escupirla
ella no entendia nada recien salia del rio
era una sirena que se habia extraviado
los insultos corrian sobre su carne lisa
la inmundicia cubrio sus pechos de oro
ella no sabia llorar por eso no lloraba
no sabia vestirse por eso no se vestia
la tatuaron con cigarillos y con corchos quemados
y reian hasta caer al suelo de la taberna
ella no hablaba porque no sabia hablar
sus ojos eran color de amor distante
sus abrazos construidos de topacios gemelos
sus labios se cortaron en la luz del coral
y de pronto salio por esa puerta
apenas entro al rio quedo limpia
relucio como una piedra blanca en la lluvia
y sin mirar atras nado de nuevo
nado hacia nunca mas hacia morir.

Fable of the Mermaid and the Drunks

All those men were there inside,
when she came in totally naked.
They had been drinking: they began to spit.
Newly come from the river, she knew nothing.
She was a mermaid who had lost her way.
The insults flowed down her gleaming flesh.
Obscenities drowned her golden breasts.
Not knowing tears, she did not weep tears.
Not knowing clothes, she did not have clothes.
They blackened her with burnt corks and cigarette stubs,
and rolled around laughing on the tavern floor.
She did not speak because she had no speech.
Her eyes were the colour of distant love,
her twin arms were made of white topaz.
Her lips moved, silent, in a coral light,
and suddenly she went out by that door.
Entering the river she was cleaned,
shining like a white stone in the rain,
and without looking back she swam again
swam towards emptiness, swam towards death.

My first post!

As you all know, I am not too big on poetry, but I hope to change that by being actively involved in this blog!

From the little poetry I do know, this poem by Pablo Neruda is one of my favorites.  I think it’s a beautifully written, heart breaking poem (especially in Spanish) that is easy to interpret.  To me, it’s simply about the destruction and rape of mother nature by humans.  The drunken, selfish men are obviously humankind, and the mermaid, in all her naturally stunning and helpless self, is nature.  But the reason why I like it so much is because when I read it, it strikes up emotion in me (which most poems fail to do).  The first time I read it, I was almost brought to tears.  I felt as if I were there, standing in the middle of the bar,  watching helplessly as the drunk men torment and take advantage of the innocent, yet stunning mermaid.  It’s like being stuck in a dream where you see something wrong happening right in front of you, but you can’t seem to move, as if  you are frozen, or stuck in slow motion.  I even feel that way in real life, when I think about the destructive direction human kind has always and still goes in.  The poem ends on a pessimistic note, “nado hacia nunca mas hacia morir”, as if Pablo was saying that it’s inevitable that we are going to destroy the sacredness of this planet.  I hope I am wrong about that last note though.

Aldo

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. agchazaro
    September 8, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Great poem, great post. I didn’t realize the human versus nature aspect until you pointed it out, and I think you are perfectly right. This does seem to be a criticism of man’s actions toward women/the earth. One word that really grabs my attention is “gemelos”, twins (gemini). It is no accident that the poet chooses to use this word. I looked up some stuff online and here is what I found: In Greek mythology, it refers to Castor and Pollux, twins who were born after the rape of their mother Leda. One was immortal and the other was mortal, and they often fought over who was more superior. I think in one version the mortal challenged his immortal brother to a sword fight and of course he died. Anyway, I say all this because I feel that Neruda is using the history behind this word to reinforce his theme of destruction and greed as human nature. In this poem, we are like the belligerent mortal brother, blindly paving the path to our own grave. I can’t say I was as affected emotionally as you were, but I know you are very concerned about the health of ourselves and our planet, and I respect that. Love

  2. Briana
    September 11, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I love how we each get different readings from this one poem! Although I see where you both get your readings from and those themes definitely seem to play within the poem, what caught my attention was the mermaid’s innocence. More than just humankind and nature, I think the poem speaks to the way society influences our innocent children and surrounds them with only violence and negativity, when what they need is compassion and nurturing. She comes into the bar naked, not knowing anything– speech or even basic human functions such as crying.

    The fact that she is naked also reminds me of Adam & Eve in the Garden of Eden before their fall. Both were naked before eating from the Tree of Knowledge. Then nakedness was acceptable but after eating the apple, they were embarrassed of their naked bodies. In this poem, the mermaid acts as an Eve figure (prior to sin) and the men represent what our society has become– a society filled with sin after that initial sin.

    I’m trying to make sense of the ending tone of the poem. She is able to enter back into her world, the ocean, and is “cleaned.” However, now she is swimming towards “emptiness” and “death.” This also reminds me of Eve because it wasn’t until that first sin did death exist and prior to that humans would have been immortal. Now that the men have “corrupted” her to say, she now knows what death is and in hopelessness seeks it.

  3. February 15, 2014 at 4:14 pm

    Sincerely, this was a just a good poem but not the greatest I’ve read. It is a little negative. The mermaid is able to go back to the ocean to find death instead of being able to stay and fight her own battles.

  4. April 8, 2015 at 6:11 am

    I belong to a poetry group. No expert here. The poetry is like a canvas and each viewer interprets its meaning. I find as much enrichment from the original poem as from the mirrors projected from the readers. The poet might take from history and the reader takes from its own emotional and intellectual make up. Thanks for making this a meaningful reading.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment